Post DAN A4 Build Best Practices

gamecrusader

Chassis Packer
Original poster
Sep 27, 2020
Hello all,

late in 2020 I built my first PC in 15+ years! I went right into a SFF build with the DAN A4.1 and couldn't be happier that I did!

As I've been running it for a few months now, I don't have any real complaints. It does get a little loud when playing something intense like Control, but in most other instances it is respectively quiet. I would say that even under load it appears to run (feel) cool.

This all said, as I’ve been out of the PC builders game for some time and I am not familiar with a lot of things like under volting/clocking the CPU/GPU. I have two questions for the community:
  1. Are there any best practices or general guidance around CPU or GPU under volting/clocking with a DAN A4 build that I should be considering?
  2. Are there any testing apps I should run to give me real data on any changes I should be making to my system?
For reference, I followed the $1600 build that Optimum Tech did on YouTube. Here is the full specs:
CPU: Intel i5-10600K
CPU Cooler: Alpenfohn Black Ridge Cooler
CPU Fan: NF-A9x14 HS-PWM chromax.black.swap positioned as intake [Replaced Alpenfohn stock fan]
Motherboard: ASRock Z490M-ITX
RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB 3200MHz
SSD: Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB NVM.e
Video Card: ZOTAC NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070 Twin Edge OC
PSU: Corsair SF600 Platinum
Case Fan: NF-A9x14 HS-PWM chromax.black.swap installed under PSU and set as exhaust

I am grateful there is a community like this! It’s fun to be back in the PC building game!

Cheers!

Reactions: conmanique

nightshift

Airflow Optimizer
Jul 23, 2020