PCIe splitting for GPU mining

madLyfe

Chassis Packer
Original poster
Jun 15, 2017
hey guys. im new to this type of thing so bare with me. i didnt even know this was called bifurcation. anyways here is my story.

i purchased the asrock QC5000M thinking i could use these on each of the PCIe ports(it has 3):

i would then use powered risers(pic below) from these 1x to dual adapters.

the plan was to have two cards per adapter for a total of 6 GPUs spread across the 3 PCIe slots. i was eamiling with the tech support guy after i purchased the board and he said it doesnt support it. are there any mATX that support this kind of use?

Last edited:

jeshikat

Jessica. Wayward SFF.n Founder
Silver Supporter
Feb 22, 2015
I take it you're mining? You'd probably have better luck asking in a cryptocurrency specific forum or subreddit.

The type of bifurcation normally discussed around here is to split x16 to x8/x8 which usually isn't what miners want since even x1 is usually good enough for that. ASRock even makes motherboards specifically for mining with lots of x1 slots though I think they're all ATX.

Like the H81 Pro BTC which according to the specs...

madLyfe

Chassis Packer
Original poster
Jun 15, 2017
I take it you're mining? You'd probably have better luck asking in a cryptocurrency specific forum or subreddit.

The type of bifurcation normally discussed around here is to split x16 to x8/x8 which usually isn't what miners want since even x1 is usually good enough for that. ASRock even makes motherboards specifically for mining with lots of x1 slots though I think they're all ATX.

Like the H81 Pro BTC which according to the specs...

you are correct that with mining that 1x is good enough. the reason why i was looking into mATX is the size, cost, and power. all of the boards that are typically used are hard to find or have crazy markups if you do find them. im just looking to know if what im wanting is possible currently?

jeshikat

Silver Supporter
Feb 22, 2015