New to SFF and the Forum

Hi folks! I'm new to the SFF community, and am looking forward to getting started!

TL;DR - Photographer growing out of the Macbook Pro and into a custom SFF PC. Hi!

Little About Me:
I'm a hobby photographer currently living on the east coast. At this moment in time I'm using Apple products and have been since 2011, when I bought a Macbook Pro. Now, nearly six years later (will be by the time I build it) I'm moving back to PC. I'm looking to absorb as much information as I can and learn from everyone!

Why I'm Leaving Mac:
As I stated before, my Macbook Pro is now five years old (technically six since it's a 2010 model) and as a result it's starting to fall behind. It came with 4GB of RAM and soon I noticed the laptop ran crazy slow. So last year (or 2014, I can't remember) I updated the RAM to the laptops full capacity of 8GBs. For awhile it was great, but now I can barely edit a single photo before my computer locks up.

So it's time to move on. I'll still keep the Macbook for school and travel, but I'm looking to move to a better platform for daily use. I thought about going to a new Macbook, but considering the price for anything decent I might as well build my own and make it look how I want. On top of that, there's a couple of games I'd love to play (on Ultra, of course) that my Macbook can't support.

So yeah! That's me, and that's why I'm here. I already have a few builds drafted and am still researching!

jeshikat

Jessica. Wayward SFF.n Founder
Silver Supporter
Feb 22, 2015
Welcome!

I thought about going to a new Macbook, but considering the price for anything decent I might as well build my own and make it look how I want.

Ain't that the truth. The current lineup of Macbooks is looking a bit long in the tooth.

PlayfulPhoenix

Founder of SFF.N
SFFLAB
Chimera Industries
Gold Supporter
Feb 22, 2015
Ain't that the truth. The current lineup of Macbooks is looking a bit long in the tooth.