Discussion New to "Pico" style PSUs. Need some help

Mansen

Efficiency Noob
Original poster
Oct 13, 2020
Hey Y'all.

I'm working on a project with a gutted Macintosh Classic. There's enough room for an ITX board, so I was thinking I'd toss a 3400G based system inside and power it with one of those slim PSUs - because there isn't really room for an SFX PSU inside or any need for it, since I'll be running it with just the iGPU, 2x8GB RAM and an NVME for emulation.

That's as far as I've come though - I have zero experience with these tiny form factor PSUs, SFX in a Sentry 2.0 case is the smallest I've ever done. I've looked at the Pico 160-XT as well as HDPlex as possible solutions. Since I won't be using any kind of GPU or HDD, I figured it might be possible to adapt the Molex output of either of these to work with the LCD adaptor board (shown in the gallery below) which requires 12V 4A to drive it using a DC plug.

Quick overview of the project and size allowances.

Choidebu

"Banned"
Aug 16, 2017
I've made molex to dc barrell jack before for hdplex 160w plugin board. It plugs to 4 pin pcie output from the board to lcd driver board's dc jack input.

Works fine, added bonus is your lcd turns on and off with the pc, just like a laptop.

smitty2k1

King of Cable Management
Dec 3, 2016
HDPlex is 19v BTW.

GUnqiue and J-Hack also make 12v plugin boards. J-Hack is very active (and Gury is also somewhat active) here so you could reach out to them.

• Angry
Reactions: Choidebu

Mansen

Efficiency Noob
Original poster
Oct 13, 2020
Yikes - Yeah this is why I asked before buying anything. That would have been a ... fun magical smoke moment I'm sure. ?

Choidebu

"Banned"
Aug 16, 2017
We're talking outputs here, right? Then pcie OUT outputs 12V.

The hdplex takes 19v input.

I did it. See my build in the sig.

Choidebu

"Banned"
Aug 16, 2017
The question of hdplex or j-hack or other pico, is what ac-dc brick you have or plan on using. It's either 12V or 19V.