New Build / Advice Welcomed

DwnTwn817

Cable Smoosher
Original poster
Jun 14, 2019
Hello everyone! I've been lurking around here for a few months now and I finally decided to dive into the world of SFF.

I'm building a new PC for my home office for every day use and some budget workstation things when I work from home (software engineer by trade). I also like to mess around with Blender from time-to-time. The only other requirement I have is that whatever GPU I go with must support 2-3 monitors (preferably via display ports). I have no plans to do any gaming on this machine.

In an effort to keep the total build as low cost as possible, I came up with the following components:

Case: Dan A4
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 2600 ($145)
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-L9a ($40)
Mobo: Asus ROG Strix B450-I ($150)
RAM: Ballistix Sport LT 16GB ($75)
SSD: WD Blue M2.2288 500GB ($60)
GPU: Sapphire Pulse RX570 ($140)
PSU: Corsair SF Series SF450 ($98)

Total price: ~$725 USD

Does all this make sense within a DAN case? Every thing fits? Enough cooling? I read the 65W TDP processors are best when using an air cooled system. Also, if possible, I'd like to get the price down a little more, but unsure where to make changes. The GPU may be overkill since I don't plan on gaming, so I'm willing to hear what ideas others have.

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: I totally forgot to mention I received my DAN A4 case last week from SFF Labs. That is the whole reason I posted here and not the build forum. Sorry if this is incorrect.

Last edited:

DwnTwn817

Cable Smoosher
Original poster
Jun 14, 2019
Could I save money on the GPU by getting one that only has a single DP slot then daisy chain monitors together?

dondan

Shrink Ray Wielder
DAN Cases
Feb 23, 2015
I cant help you on the second question but the configuration looks good. Maybe you should wait for the new Ryzen 3 generation that will be available 7th July. Furthermore i recommend the Corsair SF450 psu.

Reactions: DwnTwn817

DwnTwn817

Cable Smoosher