Ncase M1 V5 (Windowed) - Cooling Options

Limit760

Efficiency Noob
Original poster
Mar 22, 2019
Hello All,

I'm very new to SFF Pc's and have never built in the NcaseM1.

So i've got a bit of a question when it comes to cooling and necessity of fans in the Ncase M1 - V5.
I've just purchased this case and I had some questions into the specifics of what the windowed unit allows/does not allow for cooling options.

I currently own a 120mm aio - Cooler Master MasterLiquid Lite 120
I was hoping to use this to cool my cpu, obviously. Is there a preferred location for this? Because I've got the windowed unit, the bracket that people tend to put 240mm rads on isn't there. So i'm thinking maybe the rear of the case will house this?

Or is it not worth it? And just go with a Be Quiet Darkrock TF or Noctua NH-U9S

And my secondary question, I've got a MSI RTX 2060 Ventus XS, (2-slot card) and i see lots of people running the low profile Noctua NF-A12x25 fans X2 on the bottom underneath the card, i'm assuming inserted in the intake orientation. Is this recommended? And would i need the PWM version or is this dictated by what ports i've got?

My motherboard, the ASRock X470 Gaming-ITX
1 x CPU Fan Connector (4-pin) - The CPU Fan Connector supports the CPU fan of maximum 1A (12W) fan power.
- 1 x Chassis Fan Connector (4-pin) - The Chassis Fan Connector supports the chassis fan of maximum 1A (12W) fan power.
- 1 x Chassis/Water Pump Fan Connector (4-pin) (Smart Fan Speed Control) -
The Chassis/Water Pump Fan Connector supports the water cooler fan of maximum 2A (24W) fan power.
CHA_FAN1/WP can auto detect if 3-pin or 4-pin fan is in use.

I also see Noctua makes even thinner fans, instead of the standard A12x25 they make NF-A12x15.

smitty2k1

King of Cable Management
Dec 3, 2016
IMO keep it simple - go with the Noctua NH-U9S and skip the bottom intake fans. Your GPU should have plenty of cooling performance on its own.