Prototype MVL-R7 - 9.5L Mini-ITX, 70mm cooler, CNC-it-yourself

marvel.marv

Caliper Novice
Original poster
Apr 24, 2018
Hi there!

After unsuccessfully shopping for a case fitting some of my existing hardware and expectations, I decided to make a case myself. I have some experience in CNC and water cutting projects, albeit a few years ago and not much of it.

Here are my design principles:
  • mostly flat panels
  • big 2-slot GPU
  • 70mm cooler - Noctua L12S
  • SFX PSU
  • single 2.5" SSD mount
  • option to put three 120x15mm fans (chimney effect with positive pressure) with mesh on the bottom intakes
My biggest inspiration were the Sunmilo cases and Carrotcakee's Sleek 8.7liter case (thanks again for the reference files). Of course I'm not hitting the same level of craftsmanship, but I'll do my best.

The case itself is planned to be built out of 2mm aluminum panels and L-shaped aluminium profiles.

The to-do list for now contains:
  • top and side panel with ventilation (the design itself is quite time-consuming)
  • figure out the side panels mount, probably magnetic like the Louqe Ghost
  • figure out how to attach the front panel without going through
The plan is to find a makerspace in my city with a CNC machine and mill the panels out of powder coated 2mm aluminum. I'd love to have the black powder coat on the surface and bare aluminum on the inner cuts, and making chamfered edges on the panels.

This is not a commercial project. I'll probably make 1-2 extras if I'm happy with the end result. I will be sharing the SketchUp files on request, for non-commercial use as well.

I'd love to get any feedback on the design, look and any technical issues you guys may see. This is a personal challenge for me, so I already have a lot of fun doing it.

marvel.marv

Caliper Novice
Original poster
Apr 24, 2018
I implemented all of your feedback, guys... Just kidding :)

The case project is ready for cutting. The internal volume ended up at 9,5L, external around 10L.