Solved M1 v5 - first time build advice/opinions

ak3nji

Chassis Packer
Original poster
Aug 21, 2017
Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting here, as i've just joined the SFF family (currently in the market for building a SFF PC).

I've had some experience building PC's in the past, but i've never attempted a SFF PC before and would like people's opinions on the parts i'm using and whether i will achieve the outcome i'm looking for.

What i'd like this computer for;

Primary functions of the computer, a must have;
  • 1440p Gaming
  • Basic Computer use ie; Internet browsing, office, etc
  • Would like it to be as quiet as possible, but not averse to the gentle humming of fans during gaming
  • Not a function, but i want an all AMD build, from a RYZEN CPU to a Radeon GPU (i'm coming from an i5 3750k and Nvidia GPU build, no regrets or loyalty, I just want to try something different).
Secondary functions i'd love, but doesn't have to be the best of the best;
  • Streaming/Record gameplay
  • Video encoding (I like to encode files on Handbrake etc)
  • With the ODD slot, are there any Blu-Ray players/burners in this format that'd fit this?
You will notice i haven't got a GPU currently listed, as I am waiting for the Vega 56 to release. I feel like a lot of people are hating on the new Vega's (I don't care about TDP or my power bill), i know this may be the loudest/hottest component on my new build, but i'd allow it (My current MSI GTX 670 power edition OC, sounds like a plane already).

Current idea for placement of fans would be; (See link)

Bottom Fans