Prototype jottwehh 3.99l

jottwehh

Bonobo
Original poster
Mar 19, 2016
After reading about the Hdplex 300W AC-DC a couple of weeks ago, I attempted to design my own case.
I started studying @Aibohphobia s STX160.0 build "guide" I started designing my Case, but honestly I wasn't feeling comfortable with all these metal bend radius stuff, and was afraid of the manufacturing cost....
So I started designing it in a 2D version, by using @Thehack s 3D Printed Mod Corners for 2D Panel Construction.
He was very kind sending me corners for a 1.5mm side panel version and after purchasing 20 of those corners for like 8$ I thought “that's the way to go".
I never did any research on 3d printing before, but after a while I thought "hey lets try to print a skeleton and simply add the 2D side panels.

(don't wonder about the hardware, these are all just models out of our resource section for better imagination)

Specs:
205mm x 195mm x 100mm = 3.99l
m-ITX MoBo
GPU up to 175mm
dual 92mm 15mm fan
internal HDPlex 300W/250W DC-ATX
internal HDPlex 300W AC-DC
no internal SSD (I've got the Asus strix 270i, so I've got space for 2x m.2 SSD and was thinking about adding space for a SSD, but it doesn't felt right, since like 80%of a 2.5” SSD is empty...)

So I'm not ready and currently finishing up the design. I am welcome to feedback.
Next step is ordering the prototype and If it's OK I will order the side panels of 1.5mm anodized black aluminum.

Last edited:

zovc

King of Cable Management
Jan 5, 2017
I like the idea a lot! One issue I see with the design is that "most" motherboards will have RAM sticks blocking your fans' airflow.

|||

King of Cable Management
Sep 26, 2015
Having the power connector coming out the side doesn't really have a clean look to it...perhaps you can point in downward and have a space on the bottom to let the cord plug up into it with a slot for the cord in the back?