ITX Conundrum

kdr218

Cable Smoosher
Original poster
Jun 3, 2018
Mates,

I'm one of the backers for ghost s1, from Korea (south i must say)
unfortunately, we don't have enough information about ghost s1, so here I ask.
(I'm a real noob)

+Considering factors

So I'm planning for 2700x + asus strix x470 + 1180 (waiting).
I'm planning to OC my ram, but not for my cpu/gpu.
I'll be using only this PC for PUBG + streaming (just a hobby)
I am considering top hats, but I would like to keep my case as small as possible.

+The real problem

Cooling is becoming a real headache and I was hoping for suggestions on following possible options.

A. Top hat - None, Case fan - None,
CPU - Air cool, GPU - Air cool

B. Top hat - Small/Medium,
Case fan - Slim/Regular size,
CPU - Air cool, GPU - Air cool

C. Top hat - Large, Case fan - None,
CPU - Water cool w/ 240mm rads,
GPU - Air cool

D. Top hat - Large, Case fan - None,
CPU - Air cool, GPU - Water cool w/ 240mm

E. Top hat - Large, Case fan - None,
CPU - Water cool w/ 120mm,
GPU - Water cool w/ 120mm

F. Other suggestions
(ex. from using more than 1 top hat)

+ Questions

1. Which option would you suggest? Any other suggestions?
2. Can 1 large top hat create enough space for two 120mm rads instead of 240mm rad? (noted above option E)
3. On ghost s1, would you suggest a blower type, or non-blower type gpu?
Because I heard that usually for itx cases, blower types are the way to go?

Please let me know!
Thank you!

Cheers, K

* Here is a diagram that may be helpful. More information on http://louqe.com

Last edited:

Biowarejak

Maker of Awesome | User 1615
Platinum Supporter
Mar 6, 2017