Hi, all! Another new face

Hey folks!
I've been a DIY PC builder for over 2 decades now, but I have never attempted an SFF build. I've lurked these and other forums for a few years at this point just idly browsing. I have been considering doing a new build for my mom for about a year now, as her machine that I built about 9 years ago at this point is obviously getting long in the tooth. The original plan was for me to go down to visit her across the States and build the machine there as a surprise. I got a new idea however in turn since Rona showed up - I could finally have an excuse to try an SFF build. I could easily build, test, and verify a build at home and ship it to her without needing to travel. Shipping a full-size build would be a non-starter between weight and overall dimensions.

Right now I am planning on using the Sliger SM550 case, but I have not finalized the components. I will no doubt be soliciting folks' advice on my components of choice. Wanted to give a bit of a background though, since the SFF community seems much tighter knit than the larger enthusiast community.

Cheers

Phuncz

Lord of the Boards
SFFn Staff
May 9, 2015
Welcome to the forum ! You'll find plenty of info for your build here.

SFF Watercooled

Master of Cramming
Sep 26, 2020
Ok... So my first question is, will you be using a GPU? If your mom does basic things such as web browsing, then probably using an APU would be good. In that case (pun not intended), I would recommend an InWin Chopin because it's super small, cheap, widely available, has plenty of space for storage, and includes a 150 watt PSU for you (150 watts is definitely enough for a APU).

If you need a GPU, it depends on how big the GPU is. Make sure that the GPU can fit with the case you choose first before you buy the GPU or case. The Node 202 is a really good option because it's small, cheap, has good temps, and supports big GPUs.

Here is the link to SFF cases and compatibility