Hey all, student building a sff workstation.

I've been through this forum lots of times but I'm just now joining because I'm finally getting back into pc building properly. What a great time to start back again lol, with the gpu shortage and all. Anyway my name's Max, I'm 22 and I built my last rig when I was 15. I'm in my last semester of college studying illustration and industrial design. Back when I built my last computer, I just used my computer for games, and while it can't run the latest and greatest, the gtx 970 and dual core i3 still work well enough for that use case. Nowadays though I actually do work on my PC and that has really made its spec seem even more out of date. In my illustration practice even trying to multitask a little, running Photoshop and illustrator at the same time or having Firefox open for reference, really stresses my cpu, ram and storage leading to frequent hitches and sometimes lockups. Now that I've started to use cad and blender more its worse. I built that system in a bitfenix prodigy, (which I used to think was small) and I figured the second time around Id go even smaller, particularily now that I wont be using any spinning disc storage.

I'm excited about this project and figured it was about time I stop lurking and share it with like minded ppl. Here's my plan: I got a cheap 1u chassis off ebay (seems like new old stock or something) with two full length pci slots! So with some case modding I'm going to squeeze all the hardware I can into it and mount it on rails under my desk for a really simple to fabricate, maintain and move desk pc. I did some napkin math and with the roughly 12 by 17.5 inch interior space It'll be a little over 5 liters of volume. Pics are below I'm going to draw up some concept designs this weekend hopefully and do some testing on the system, install linux, etc.

Specs so far:
i9-10900 (the box says 540 but I only payed 320)
Gigabyte Aorus Z490I