Advice First build: Node 202, i7-9700, Vega 56, W10 + W7

Tonkatsu

Average Stuffer
Original poster
Jul 18, 2020
Hi All!

As stated in my presentation I have very little experience building PCs, this will be my second one ever, first SFF, and several parts are already in my hands, some on their way, others yet to purchase.
(so it is both a seeking advice and wip/log thread)

One oddity maybe is that it will run W7 (!)
- not forever just a few more years and it wont itself be connected to the internet -
After that period this PC will go back to being a 'normal use' one with W10 (or whatever future Windows revision)

EDIT: instead I've decided to put W10 on the primary drive (M.2), and dual boot W7 on a secondary (2.5")
With EasyBCD or something.

For that purpose I've bought the only Mini-ITX I could find that still offers full support for W7 64bit, an H310M (v2.0), with all* dedicated drivers available from the product's downloads page. *I hope.
I don't know much about PC hardware evolution, as I've never paid much attention to the market's news, but that motherboard along with the 9th Gen Intel I have seemed to be among the 'final' choices for that discontinued OS.

So here's what's in it;

Mobo: ASRock H310CM-ITX/ac (choice explained above)
CPU: i3-9350KF i7-9700
GPU: R9 380X RX Vega 56 (blower type)
CPU cooler: Silverstone AR06 ID-Cooling IS-60
Case: Node 202
SSD primary: EVO 960 860 M.2 2280 500GB (faster NVMe upgrade considered for later. W7 dualbooted will be on a separate 250GB SSD)
RAM: Vengeance LPX DDR4 2x8 3000Hz C15 (red) (set to 2666 in BIOS)
PSU: Corsair SF600 Platinum
Case fans: bunch of Noctua's

EDIT; updated. Haven't installed W7 on a side SSD yet, reading how to do that using EasyBCD.

Last edited:

Tonkatsu

Average Stuffer
Original poster
Jul 18, 2020
Node 202 and Silverstone AR06 just arrived. Oh, yeah. It's all coming together. ?

Parts on the way;