Log Fairytale or achievable? (5950X, ITX, sub 5l case, eGPU, bifurcation)

dutchy91

Case Bender
Original poster
New User
Dec 6, 2020
Ok here me out. I know that I am pushing every boundary there is but you gotta dream right?

Background:
I am a software developer by day and a game enthousiast by night, and a tech geek overall! For the last years I always did my development on laptops like Dell XPS's and such. I hate laptops, I hate the lack of horsepower and the thermal-problems. I am not buying laptops anymore so I am thinking about going the SFF route! I want an absolute beast of a PC to get my development work done. But when I am done for work and go home, I would like to re-purpose that hardware for gaming. It would be a shame to have a 5950X-machine in your backpack and build a separate rig for gaming, right!?

Usecase:
So let me share the idea: I want a 5950X inside a very tiny case like the 'Inwin Chopin' or more reasonable ' NFC S4 Mini'. It has to be very portable because it will travel with me everyday on and off work. I want two NVME's so I can get a dual boot setup; one for work and the other one for gaming. At home I will build a GPU enclose for a 6800XT. My plan is to use a PCIE riser extension to connect both 'rig' and 'epgu' without any performance loss (like you get with Thunderbolt3).

I must also add that I don't want to plugin in a bunch of cables when I get home or at work. At work I just want to plug the power into my PSU and one Thunderbolt3/USB-C for my triple monitor / mouse / keyboard / etc. (I have a docking station at work). At home I also have to plug the power into the PSU, 1 USB for all the peripherals and the PCIE Riser for the eGPU.

Planned hardware:
MOTHERBOARD: ROG Strix X570 I Gaming
CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
CPU-COOLER: Noctua NH-L12S (or Alpenföhn Black Ridge) with 120mm fan
RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK64GX4M2E3200C16 (64gb / 2 sticks)
PSU: HDPLEX 400W HiFi DC-ATX
CASE: NFC S4 Mini ?

Problems: