EVE 01: Vertical all-acrylic SFF case

ehqhvm

Trash Compacter
Original poster
Nov 18, 2015
Hey everyone!

I'm really new to the world of custom cases, so I apologize in advance for my lack of precision and outright sloppiness in SketchUp :-)

I've been thinking about an idea for a custom case for a while, and now I'd really like to take the next step and make it happen!

I don't plan on ever selling this case or even making more than one. I just want to make one for me that adapts specifically to my own hardware and design requirements. Here's what I have so far:

I'm struggling a lot to make things look better and more precise on SketchUp, but I think this will give you at least an idea of what I'm aiming for.

All the red parts that you see would just be a red carbon-fiber-textured vinyl applied directly on top of the acrylic.

I'm also planning on adding a lot of perforations on the panels to allow airflow.

The inside layout is heavily inspired by the amazing Ncase M1 layout, which is my current case and I love. This would just be adding a twist to that idea, taking some design elements from the Silverstone FT-03 Mini, to minimize desktop footprint of the system, and also to showcase the GPU, as I think this look would be really nice.

The case panels end up going a little higher than the motherboard, so as to hide a little bit the IO ports and cables that will be sticking out of it, but I don't really care about hiding them entirely, only slightly is fine in my opinion. Having the IO ports on the top also makes it easier to have access to USB ports, thus alleviating the need to have USB on the front.

With regard to storage, I plan on using only an M.2 drive (Samsung 950 pro 512GB), which I think will make my life a lot easier.

NEXT STEPS: