Discussion ADVICE - Undervolting Ryzen 5600

NegativeONE

Average Stuffer
Original poster
Apr 8, 2022
Hey guys and gals, im seeking advice to the best way to undervolt the 5600 CPU i have, i know there is ways to change the PPT/TDC/EDC limits and i've always been scared away from attempted to use ryzen master as CB use to crash when the system reached 85degrees (on my 5800x build). I suspect i would get the same from the 4L build, but would like some advice to reduce some specs on both the CPU/MB combo and the GPU without scacrficing too much in the way of performance.

Im a bit of a noob when it comes to over/under clocking and the closest i have got is by setting a neg PBO curve and disabling the CPU limits, so dont quite understand the inner workings.

Reactions: AlexTSG

Mashndrow

Caliper Novice
Mar 27, 2022
I overclocked and undervolted 3600 and 5900x on Ryzen Master. I can tell you it was easier to work on 3600 than 5900x. I am not an expert but I find the right voltage by keep testing and crashing the system. It's safer to crash the system these days. I would advise using Cinebench r20 or r23 while finding the right voltage by just playing the numbers. I currently find my best spot at 4.2 GHz 1.15v on my 3600. I think you can go higher clock speed while keeping the voltage low than mine.

seppola

Trash Compacter
Jan 1, 2020
neg PBO is per se not undervolting. Find a good neg PBO curve, and set limits to PPT/EDC/TDC, you can do this in bios or ryzen master.

If you dont want to automatically adjust PPT/EDC/TDC, you can activate ECO MODE in bios, this will set consumption to 45W. By far the easiest approach.

Reactions: AlexTSG

NegativeONE

Average Stuffer
Original poster
Apr 8, 2022
neg PBO is per se not undervolting. Find a good neg PBO curve, and set limits to PPT/EDC/TDC, you can do this in bios or ryzen master.