AC/DC Adapter for thin mITX system with 1050Ti

McSpain

Trash Compacter
Original poster
Jun 8, 2018
Hi guys,
I'm pretty new to the scene here, so excuse me, if it's a dumb question.
I plan on doing a thin mITX system for my younger brother for maximum compactness, but still use a discrete GPU. Since Inno3D has this lovely single slot 1050Ti, I got the idea of incorporating it alongside a i5-7600. The combined TDP of both is 140W, with 75W going to the GPU. I don't know about any internal AC/DC adapter apart from the HDPLEX 160 or 400, but 160W seems too little, and 400W too overkill for this system. Are there any alternatives?

Also I'm a bit worried about the powering of the GPU. The 1050Ti draws up to 75W, but only 25W could be drawn through the x4 PCIe from the board. I'd use a powered riser from ADT-Link, but the additional 12V rail would draw up to 4A from the SATA-Power adapter on the mainboard. Could this cause damaed to the onboard DC/DC components of the mainboard, that converts 19V to 12V?
Or should I solder a 19V to 12V adapter in parallel to the board?

kotproger

SFF Lingo Aficionado
Jul 9, 2016
vk.com
Hi guys,
I'm pretty new to the scene here, so excuse me, if it's a dumb question.
I plan on doing a thin mITX system for my younger brother for maximum compactness, but still use a discrete GPU. Since Inno3D has this lovely single slot 1050Ti, I got the idea of incorporating it alongside a i5-7600. The combined TDP of both is 140W, with 75W going to the GPU. I don't know about any internal AC/DC adapter apart from the HDPLEX 160 or 400, but 160W seems too little, and 400W too overkill for this system. Are there any alternatives?