3d Technical Artist / Compositing / Game Dev Rig

juanelo_dev

Chassis Packer
Original poster
Nov 26, 2018
Hi Folks!

I'm a 3d Technical Artist for games that often switches to video editing and compositing work as well. I travel abroad quite often and wanted to have a full-powered, portable setup with me. I'd like to share my tentative build, and get any feedback before I officially hit the button and purchase everything.

For context, I often find myself with huge Maya, Unity and Photoshop files open simultaneously, as well as 20-30 chrome tabs on different desktops. Several of these tabs run heavy web apps and services like AWS. I often need to pop into video calls with desktop sharing to give demos from within this combination of tools. I need to capture and edit video quickly (usually Camtasia and Premiere), and work with heavy Nuke scenes quite a bit. I've also been moving into running a VM to make game builds that require a different OS.

Here's the tentative build:
Case Dan A4-SFX
CPU i9-9900K Coffee Lake 8-Core, 16-Thread, 3.6 GHz
GPU GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti GAMING OC 11G (debating between this and a 1080ti GTX)
Motherboard ASRock Motherboard (Z390 Phantom Gaming-ITX/AC)
Ram Corsair LPX 32GB (2x16GB) 3200MHz C16 DDR4 DRAM Memory Kit (pretty disappointed any mITX boards compatible with the 9900K seem to max out at 32gb ram. I'm aware there's larger Dimms, but they're very much out of my budget)
SSD Samsung 1TB EVO SSD (cannibalized from my current laptop)
PSU Thermaltake 600w 80+ with 120mm Ultra Quiet Fan, ATX 12v v2.3/EPS 12V Active PFC
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H55 (CW-9060010-WW)
Cooling 2 Noctua NF-A12x15 PWM, 120mm

(the last two were additions made based on a comment by @dondan on a very similar thread)

I'd like to know if this is a reasonable build that can be expected to work under heavy workloads for extended periods of time without burning up. Also, I'd like to avoid de-lidding if possible. Any comments are greatly appreciated! Thanks!

dondan