150W psu + 200w pico + 80 - 300w consumption?

soerena

Case Bender
Original poster
Mar 6, 2017
First off, hello everyone and thanks for having this awesome community!

Disclaimer: I'm not a pro in assembling PC's, but I have some experience with electronics in other fields :-)

So, I bought this very small form factor PC from a guy who makes a living off selling them in Denmark. My specs are:
* Intel i7 4790s 3,2 ghz
* 16 gb ram (2 8gb slots)
* 1 500gb SSD
* The motherboard is some mini itx version, but not quite sure which. It only has 1 pci-e slot which was initially fitted with a * firewire card that i used for audio hardware.
* z3-atx-200w http://www.ebay.com/itm/Z3-ATX-200-...C-ATX-power-supply-with-16V-24V-/111322355876
* 19v 7,9A 150w PSU (i suspect some chinese model of some sort.. black regular enclosure)

Recently, I wanted to use another pc for audio production and instead make this a tiny gamer pc so I went and bought Elsa's newly released geforce gtx 1050 ti sp (single port) card to put in my pci port instead of the firewire card.

The 1050 sp is rated at 75W, and though I must admit I wasn't completely sure about power consumption in total - I gave it a go. Games seemed to be running just fine, Arma 3, Company of heroes 2 etc.. until today when I was at a LAN and playing Rainbow Six Siege, my pc suddenly just turned off. I saw the PSU led had gone off, so I suspect it's the PSU that had been overheated - it was indeed very hot.
... I immidately went and (should have done this in the first place yes, i know) a power meter that I plugged in my wall socket so I could monitor what was actually being spent. It should be noted that this was just a cheap power meter from a regular wall mart-ish store in Denmark.. I'm not sure if you can count on these to be precise, but I would expect so.